Wednesday Chic: Old Things, Designer Things

2015.4.21PhillipLim32015.4.21PhillipLim2015.4.21PhillipLim22015.4.21PhillipLim52015.4.21PhillipLim4

top – Enza Costa | jeans – J. Brand from Finicky Fox | heels – 3.1 Phillip Lim from The Real Real | belt – vintage from The Clothes Rack | silver ring – Nest | gold rings – Stella and Dot | sunglasses – thrifted


I am a firm believer in the power of old things and designer things. Old things are generally those items I thrift: vintage jewelry, outerwear, bags or clothes. Designer things are those investment pieces that will never go out of style and that you will have in our closet forever. Enter: these 3.1 Phillip Lim heels. Also known as very expensive shoes but somewhat affordable when you buy them from The Real Real and blow a lot of your Christmas money. Either way you look at it, these were some serious investment shoes that I knew would fit into the wardrobe I was creating. What was I looking for?

  1. A short, walkable shoe. I don’t know about you, but 4″ and over heels? That ain’t happening. The 3.5″ heel on these is perfect.
  2. A modern shoe. The d’orsay style is a classic style that is also very in now and the blend of the black and white snake skin with brown toe cap is a fashion making statement.
  3. A  goes-with-anything shoe. I hate buying something for a specific outfit. I love buying something that I know I can mix and match with the majority of my wardrobe, thereby increasing the chances I will wear it and decrease my overall CPW (cost per wear). This also makes those designer investments budget friendly (over time…).

Now on to the old thing. My latest obsession are these vintage belts. I spent about $120 on these over the past two weeks (they were half off, so bargain!) at a local thrift store. I. Love. And I mean, aren’t the swans just adorable?? It is these types of old items that make a wardrobe collection. They are one-of-a-kind, they add a unique and personal twist to an outfit and over time, their worth increases.

Great investments can come in all shape, sizes and prices.


SHOP THE LOOK

ezjeansPLbrooks brotherscolehanbeltfinal
prettybowbelt

1.  Enza Costa top (exact match here)

2. Jag Jeans

3. 3.1 Phillip Lim Diamond d’Orsay Pumps (not exact match)

4. Pineapple belt

5. Buckle belt

6. Bow belt 2

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Chic: Old Things, Designer Things

  1. Hi Kristen – thanks for reading! I am so into boyfriend jeans/ jeans with rolled cuffs right now. They are just too easy to wear and when you pair heels with them you get a really quick dressy/casual look.

Something to say? Do it here.

