Elements Beauty Shop VLOG

I have been working with Elements, a local beauty shop, on a series of posts to feature a few of their products. When they reached out, I immediately let them know I wasn’t a beauty blogger and was, in fact, pretty lazy and lax when it comes to my own beauty regime. They were so gracious when I responded to their beauty quiz with what basically amounted to: “I have no idea what I am doing when it comes to beauty products” and “I don’t want to spend a fortune.” They hand picked samples for me based on my (not so helpful) feedback and I have been testing them out over the past few weeks. I love filming VLOGs and thought you would appreciate a first impressions video. I have included all of the samples I received below along with my commentary thus far. I have gotten through all but 2 of the samples and some were clear winners, others are growing on me and some, not so much. There are two more blog posts in this Elements series, so I hope you enjoy. And let me know your own beauty routine and products you love – I can use all the pointers I can get!

 Lather Ultra Light Every Day Face Lotion – I absolutely LOVE this stuff. I was a little disappointed that it didn’t have SPF because I can see myself using this every day, morning and night., but it smells so nice, absorbs easily and quickly, leaving a clean feeling (not greasy or heavy) on your skin. I loved that a little tiny bit went a long way. I used the 3.1 ml sample 5 times before running out.

Lather Licorice Root Eye Treatment – Another winner. I was hesitant with this at first because anything that adds another step to my beauty routine is likely not gonna happen. But again, the feeling and smell of this product was so light, so airy. A little truly went a long way as I have used this 8 times and still have product left from the sample size. I haven’t been able to see a noticeable difference yet, but I like the idea that I am caring for my face, especially the delicate eye area. My husband noted that I do have bags (yikes) so hopefully this helps over time. I am also looking to Elements for something similar to this that maybe works better/faster? Will keep you posted.

Lather AHA Hand Creme with Evening Primrose – On my notes for this product, I wrote that I liked the smell, that a little goes a long way and that it felt a little greasy (not in a bad way, just didn’t absorb into my skim completely). I don’t know that I would buy a whole bottle of this, only because I tend to go through lotions on my hand quickly and I don’t think I noticed a huge difference.

Kneipp Almond Floral Body Lotion  (not exact match) – I felt that the texture of this lotion was nice, it glided on easily and absorbed quickly, but I did not like the scent. It had too much of a floral scent for what I prefer for body lotion. I love things with softer or non existent scents.

Lather Lip Green Tea – I like this product, I’m glad I got to try it, but I think I would opt to try another brand/type the next time. It felt awesome going on and helped, but I tend to have really dry/easily chapped lips and it almost felt like I would need to reapply every 10 minutes or so.

Kneipp Lemon Body Wash (not sure of exact match) – Oh. My. Gosh. This stuff was amazing! I love lemons, the smell of lemons, everything about lemons and this was the best body wash I have ever used. I tend to use Oil of Olay, Dove, etc. things that are simple/plain smelling but this was so fun and girly that I would totally buy this again just for when I wanted something fresh.

FarmHouse Fresh Sweet Cream Body Lotion – OK, so you know where I said I like body lotions that are subtle and sweet? This one is my soul mate. It smells divine (seriously, that’s what I wrote down in my testing notebook). The small 2 ml sample size was enough for just my arms, but this is totally going on my “want to spoil me, buy this lotion” list for my husband.

Lather Sweet Almond Exfoliating Cream – This I thought smelled absolutely luxurious. It was a mix of a cream base with small exfoliating beads. I used this four times from the small sample and really enjoyed it, although I would like to try a range of other exfoliating products before committing.

Lather Bamboo Silk Foaming Face Wash – I wasn’t a huge fan of this one. I liked the smell but I did not like the foaming feel.

REN Reinitialize Night Creme – I was/am very excited about this product as I know a night creme is something I need to begin incorporating into my routine. I have used this twice and both times loved it – the smell is so nice, it goes on well with a very light feeling to it. I will note that the creme has a yellowish tint which can be off putting at first (I guess I just expected white?) Since I’m lazy, I hate washing my face at night (I don’t use any makeup on my face, so typically no need to do anything but remove eye makeup) and haven’t found a good toner/cleanser wipe that I can just wipe my face with (vs. washing with water/soap), so I haven’t used this as frequently as I feel like I should since I feel like I should have a clean face before applying. I have heard good things about this Thayers Witch Hazel and plan on purchasing a bottle for this purpose.  So hopefully there will be an uptick in this product as the sample is large and should last for a while.

Lather Blemish Serum – This is the stuff of gods. I have what I would consider average skin, not too oily, not to dry, but prone to blemishes from time to time (and more so when consuming dairy products). I had a blemish start to form, I dabbed on the serum, and within a day, it was less red and was diminishing in size. It has tea tree in it so it smells amazing. It goes on like a gel but doesn’t dry like most cremes tend to do. The price is similar to what I spent on my last blemish item (from Arbonne, which I still have), so I would not hesitate to pay $30 for this again based on my experiences thus far. Plus, a tiny bit will last 6-12 months depending on how often you use.

Malin + Goetz 30 SPF Face Moisturizer – I really wanted to like this product, but I just don’t, at least not for everyday use. I love that Elements included this because I asked for a face moisturizer with SPF, but this one was just too heavy and greasy for every day wear. I felt like I should be headed to the beach. I would love a travel version of this one for summer traveling, but otherwise, I would prefer something lighter and less sunscreen like.

Lather Cucumber Milk Facial Cleanser – Another one I just didn’t like. The cleanser was very thin, almost milk like (which I guess makes sense), but the cucumber smell was too weird. I tried it twice to use up the sample and both times I did not like it.

Lather Ultra Mild Face Wash – I haven’t tried this one out yet, but I have a feeling I am really going to like this if it is similar to the everyday moisturizer. *Post update – in the spirit of being accurate, I tried this this morning in my shower. Loved it! It smelled so nice (lavender) and foamed just right. I still like using exfoliating cleansers, but could see this as an alternative on days I don’t exfoliate.

Lather Honey Moisture Mask with Propolis Extract – I haven’t tried this one yet either, mainly because it says I have to let the mask sit on my face for 20 minutes and frankly that just seems like too much time/work. On the plus side, you don’t rinse this mask, but rub it in like lotion, so maybe that will work in my favor. *Post update – As I type, I am wearing this face mask. My husband kindly informed me that I had lotion all over my face and I kindly informed him it was a mask. It literally smells like honey. 5 minutes in and it’s already absorbed into my skin. I kinda like this type of mask. Put it on and you’re good to go.

I was very happy and pleased with the recommendations from the Elements team. They picked things that matched exactly what I said I wanted/thought I could use and provided products that addressed issues I have (needing SPF, having dry hands/chapped lips, wanting a night creme, etc.). I have two more fun posts in this series, so stay tuned!


 

This post was created in collaboration with and sponsored by Elements Beauty Shop.  All opinions and post ideas are my own. 

12 thoughts on “Elements Beauty Shop VLOG

  1. Such a great post. Thanks, Sydney! PS: I bet you would love the REN micro polish cleanser. It’s similar to the St. Ives one but with smaller exfoliating particles. See if they have a sample of that one next time you’re in if you want. If they don’t, I think I have an extra.

  2. Rupert is a sweetie! I love your laid-back approach to beauty, because I can totally relate! I have recently started investing in higher-end lines while trying not to burn a hole in my wallet and have really fallen in love with Kiehls products. I wish we had a store here, but Nordstrom carries their stuff.

    I will have to check out Elements next time I am in carytown, I have heard great things about REN, and some of their other brands.

    Also, try using a tiny pin to poke holes in your samples to make them last longer! Instead of ripping right into them and having the sample dry out, you can poke it, and save the products longer!

    Best, Jordan Taylor
    petiteMODERN

  3. It is seriously SO good. I used to use the Clean and Clear stuff that I paid $5 for at the drug store. I then got an Arbonne one which I really did like, but this one is even better.

  4. Thanks! I don’t know if you use a lot of beauty products, but Elements seems to have some really great ones at all price points. AND they don’t test on animals and all that good stuff. :)

Something to say? Do it here.

