#ChicStripes30DayStyleChallenge

 2015 30 Day Style Challenge - week 1Day 2 / Day 3 / Day 4

Nothing like kicking off the New Year by forgetting to do your very own 31 day style challenge right? January 1 was spent in its entirety in workout attire for the following: yoga, house cleaning, brunch, more cleaning and a few hours spent bouldering/free climbing  some small rocks along our trail system (and then icing my knee while sipping #Whole30 compliant hot tea). Nothing much to speak of with those outfits and you can see a bit of them on Insta. I will say I am loving the Fabletics Salar Capri pants I purchased a few months ago – they look great and seem to be standing up to the wear and tear I inflict on clothes. On to the challenge: the goal is to snap a picture of your outfit every day for 30 days. It’s designed to help you wear things you haven’t in a while and you can add any other little challenges you want: wear second hand pieces, mix and match outfits from only 20 pieces or dress up daily outfits by adding in different accessories. I am working on wearing more skirts during my 30 days.

Day 2: Andrew and I took a brief weekend trip to Salem to visit with some of his family so I packed lightly, using the same jeans and boots in Day 2 and 3. I like layering because it’s an easy way to add interest to outfits. Here I choose a cropped sweat shirt, very 80s, over a chambray top and a few necklaces.

Day 3: This is one of my more interesting necklaces, bordering on being ugly, but it’s just a piece I really like (purchased via estate auction). An oversized sweater can get tucked into bottoms with a belt to add another layer of visual interest and break up a straight line.

Day 4: Skirt! I thrifted this leather skirt many years ago and remains in my closet despite being a tad bit large. I balanced out the size with a puffer vest and an interesting muted color combo.

I’d love to have you join me over the next 27 days. You can play along by hash tagging: #chicstripes30daystylechallenge on twitter or instagram.

 

 

3 thoughts on “#ChicStripes30DayStyleChallenge

  1. I truly love this idea! So far I haven’t repeated anything, and shopping my closet is probably the best thing for me right now, considering my resolution to stop bleeding money at Short Pump… haha. Loving your looks so far, and looking forward to following along!

  2. It’s a great way to really look at your closet and see what you have, what you (actually) wear and what you can get rid of. I find it also helps to write down pieces you discover you need so that when you do go shopping, you have a targeted list versus impulsive buys that don’t actually fit into your existing wardrobe/personal style.

Something to say? Do it here.

