Monday Chic: Summer Layers

2014.7.8SummerLayers3Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend? Ours was jam packed but awesome. My little sister joined us for a morning of mountain bike trail riding and an impromptu tour of an old water pump house in one of our local parks. While the building is in fairly rough condition, it was really awesome to see the old stone (from the 1800s) coupled with the iron and other intricate pieces. Our tour guide was a huge fan of the building, having been there for 14 years, and it was fun to hear him tell the history. One of our favorite things about the tour (besides discovering it totally randomly), was the second floor of the building. This floor opens up to the outdoors with huge windows and was once a public dance floor! The space can now actually be used for weddings or other events. We spent the rest of the afternoon on the river and Sunday we visited a new church (church hunting – anyone else feel my pain?). Sunday ended with a family dinner picnic style in a local park listening to music. All in all – a great weekend!

So I’ve said it before, but this summer I am living in skirts and dresses. I am not a huge fan of shorts, so my only other option is pants which really isn’t an option when you live in the south in the summer. The one downside to dresses/skirts is that they can be, well, plain. A fun way to punch things up a bit is to simply add a layer. Here I layered a long tunic top over another skirt. It certainly beats the high-waisted /top tucked in combo, of which I had gotten a little bored. Add a fun bit of color (or keep things serious with minimal or silver accessories) and your dress or skirt now has another life.

2014.7.8SummerLayers2014.7.8SummerLayers42014.7.8SummerLayers2

Outfit details:

top –  AIKO from Clementine / skirt – H&M from Rumors / flats – Lanvin from Baggio / belt – thrifted / necklace – thrifted / ring – Nest

2 thoughts on “Monday Chic: Summer Layers

  1. I like this boho-y look on you! It is really cute. I am a fellow fan of wearing skirts and dresses in the summertime. Nothing better. I think I said that on a post I have drafted for Friday, haha. It just makes me more comfortable in our RVA heat (and humidity).

Something to say? Do it here.

