LA Bound

da9f0d7a7cf611e3a8dd0a10f4513c60_6Photo via livelifehappy.com

Earlier this week I shared the above quote on my instagram. It received a lot of response and has been something I couldn’t shake from my own head. See, about two weeks ago, School of Style announced the release of their new class on menswear styling with guest speaker Ilaria Urbinati. I have been following her on IG for a while now and her body of work is impressive, especially when it comes to male clients (think Will Arnett, Ty Burrell and Bradley Cooper). She was named one of the top 25 most powerful stylists and recently had a huge NY Times write-up. To make a long story short, I really wanted to attend this class. But the list of ways it wouldn’t work seemed huge: it’s in LA, the cost of the class, the cost of travel. But the list of pros also seemed huge: the guest speaker was amazing, who knew when or where the class would happen again, I remembered I had a class credit so all I needed to cover was travel. I kicked the idea around in my head for a while and discussed it with my husband. The potential to actually do this seemed amazing! But you know what? The idea of going to LA was terrifying. I would need to maneuver a new city, in a new place, with renowned awful traffic. And all for what? 2 days? Was it worth it? In short, I answered yes and at the encouragement of my husband, registered for the class and booked my flight, hotel and rental car yesterday. In just a few weeks, I am LA bound baby! It seems surreal and still very, very scary. But as I have the opportunity to work with more male clients, I know this will be valuable information to add to my portfolio that I really won’t get anywhere else.  I’m excited to pursue this, excited we could make it happen, and am looking to the amazing side of things – pushing back the scary. Because don’t you often have to get through the scary to make it to the really amazing?

4 thoughts on “LA Bound

  1. You go girl! Happy to hear you made the jump and decided to go for that class. Some things are scary but you just have to take the risk. The more skills you acquire, the better you can serve your clients and expand your reach into other sets of customers.

    – Karen
    http://www.MrsLookingGood.com

Something to say? Do it here.

