Monday Chic: Spring Colors

2014.4.11SpringcolorsMy impromptu mini-spring break from blogging and most of social media the past week and a half has been nothing if not refreshing, relaxing, and downright nice. Social media is a funny thing – you feel the pressure to always be on, always be present and that you are missing something if you aren’t. Newsflash: you aren’t. Being away gave me some much needed to time to reflect on everything I’ve been striving for and just how “busy” (and not necessarily the good busy) I’ve become. I think it’s safe to say I am cutting back on some of the many extraneous things I’ve been doing and getting ready to really focus on in on specific things  that I want to do. I’m still working to become a little more organized. For a very type-A person, I can’t believe I’ve been so unorganized with my blogging and business ideas, perhaps because I’ve lacked singular focus. At any rate, I’m excited to have more fun getting dressed and get back down to business. In the mean time, tell me what you want to see here on the blog. More tips? How to thrift? Closet edits? Personal styling client stories? Outfit posts? I’ve got a few posts I’m working on to get up (business plan details, recent styling projects) and then I’m wide open to suggestions – so bring ’em on!

This turned out to be my favorite outfit to date. The sweater is a light weight wool J. Crew sweater I found at The Clothes Rack for $5; jeans are Citizens of Humanity from Clementine (one of my recent closet overhaul pieces). I love these two main pieces because they are so versatile. I can literally pair them with anything in my closet, but the accessories are what makes this look. Because really? A J. Crew sweater and white pants could easily veer into preppy territory and that’s not my particular style. A few strong pieces like this leather belt and striking lion pendant are all it needed to keep it me. But you could just as easily pair a silk scarf, ribbon belt, and sandals for a uniquely you but still prep inspired look. Or try heels with a pop of color and bright accessories for an easy feminine look. The possibilities are endless once you have your core pieces!

2014.4.11SpringColors22014.4.11SpringColors32014.4.11SpringColors42014.4.11SpringColors5

Outfit details:

sweater – J. Crew from The Clothes Rack / jeans – Citizens of Humanity from Clementine / belt – thrifted / rings – thrifted and the Nest / sunglasses – Prada / heels – Vince Camuto / necklace – Shops at 5807

Something to say? Do it here.

