Now and then…

Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy. – Guillaume Apollinaire

Thanks to Wikipedia, I now know more about Guillaume Apollinaire than I ever knew before today. According to the purest of interest sources, he is hailed as the poet of the 20th century and the father of surrealism. He was born in Rome with a family history typical of those types: war, prison, fleeing, etc. He was accused and arrested for stealing the Mona Lisa when in fact, he only aided and abetted (providing shelter for the actual thief) and was later released. He fought in World War 1 and wrote poems I have never read. He eventually died of influenza. Why do I write about this? Well, this is what happens when you go searching quotes on Pinterest, you learn a few things about history. But as an artist, he probably knew a thing or two about what it means to be truly happy.

I’ve taken an unexpected, unplanned break from blogging. I’ve popped in on social media a few times, and I’m certainly not not checking it, but “the blog” has taken on a life of it’s own. I love blogging. I love the people I’ve met, the projects I’ve worked on (and am currently working on), but I’ve neglected some other things and, frankly, the “pursuit” of happy can be tiring.  But never fear, I’m still thrifting and reading and drinking lots of coffee and wearing fun things. Everything is still going on, just on a much more scaled back basis. I’m trying to live in the moment, course correct, if you will. In the mean time, take a look through my archives. I did it myself the other day and some of those outfits and early posts will provide you hours of good laughs.

Something to say? Do it here.

