Midweek Chic: Reds

2013.11.22RedsThis is another outfit that was taken last week when we were having 70 degree weather. Yesterday, the weather took a nastier turn to below freezing with cold, sleeting rain, with the same predicted for today. Ugh. At least I have this outfit to remind me of balmier days. I enjoy mixing colors that don’t typically “go”: black and brown; blue and black; red and…anything in the red family: pink, orange, coral, or maroon. Something about contrasting opposite but similar colors feels very cool to me. I also used this outfit as an opportunity to don some dainty jewelry. I’ll be honest and just say dainty jewelry isn’t usually my thing. Chunky, striking, and large is more up my alley. But today it just felt right to pair some smaller items and let the colors do the talking.

2013.11.22RedsSmile22013.11.22RedsDetails2013.11.22RedsShoes2013.11.22RedsEarringsAre you a chunky or dainty jewelry fan? 

Ps – can you believe tomorrow is Thanksgiving? 2013 has flown by! I’ll be celebrating with a lot of family time that will no doubt include home videos, making gingerbread houses, decorating Christmas trees, and introducing everyone to our new kitten Rupert (follow me on instagram at chicstripes for the #rupertpicoftheday. The cuteness factor is insane!!). As a gentle reminder, if you are partaking in any part of Black Friday- wait until Friday to shop and shop small and local!

Outfit details:

top – vintage from Ashby Consignment / jeans – J. Brand from Finicky Fox / scarf – from Tunic Consignment / boots – Vince Camuto / earrings and bracelet – Stella and Dot / watch – thrifted

3 thoughts on “Midweek Chic: Reds

  1. Thank you! They are literally my favorite pair of boos ever. I bought them new (on sale) at Dillard’s about three years ago. When I thrift/consign something I will say if they are thrifted or consigned and then where I got them from. I did find a fabulous pair of Vince Camuto booties at Ashby Consignment for a client a few weeks ago. She got them and they look amazing on her (plus were only $42!).

Something to say? Do it here.

