Midweek Chic: Hair Awards and Jewelry as Art

2013.11.4BlackBrownToday I would like to debut a hair style that won varying awards yesterday: the “Did you do something different to your hair?” award; the “This makes you look like you are 15 again” award; and the “Wow, hair looks fantasitc today” award. Not quite sure what to make of these “awards” except that it certainly brought on the comments. Basically, this is what my hair looks like 6 months post hair cut and parted down the middle. But enough of hair, this isn’t a beauty blog!, let’s get to the outfit. Lots of fun 2nd hand pieces here from the top to the jeans to the…drum roll please…Barry Kieselstein-Cord alligator cuff. This piece came into Baggio Consignment several months ago and it was love at first site. The detail is amazing and it perfectly combines classic with edgy. I left the store that day, thinking about the piece. I finally go to the place in my head where I knew I wanted to comit (it didn’t come cheap) and that it would be a worthy investment (just look his stuff up on eBay and know that’s not even close to the retail price). His work is the work of legends and truly defines fashion/jewelry design as art; people collect his items. Long story short, the item was gone by the time I decided to buy it but as fortune would have, it came back and it’s mine. I am in love with this piece and besides, it makes a nice addition to my small “adult” jewelry collection (i.e. pieces made from real silver, gold, etc. ya know… the stuff your grandparents and parents have).

2013.11.4BlackBrowndetails2013.11.4BlackBrownShoes2013.11.4BlackBrownSideWhat fine jewelry pieces do you have in your collection?

Outfit details:

top – thrifted / t-shirt – H&M / scarf – American Apparel / jeans – J. Brand from Finicky Fox / heels – Target / cuff – Barry Kieselstein-Cord from Baggio Consignment (see a clearer image here)

Psssst. A special shout out to all of you new blog followers! I’m thrilled to have you on board. Please feel free to leave questions/comments/suggestions in the comments or via email at: chicstripes@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you, what you like or what you would like to see more of (of course this goes for you long time readers as well).

6 thoughts on “Midweek Chic: Hair Awards and Jewelry as Art

  1. OKAY THREE THINGS: 1) your hair is amaze, I love it down. 2) The cuff is gorge – I am educated on a new “artist”! 3) Those heels are tres cute and of course, I love them and realized even better, they’re from Target! Are they a recent buy? Loving this entire post!

  2. The cuff is really unique, I loved it! I’m still building my fine jewelry collection. So far, I have a vintage cameo brooch that my mom gave me, but other than that, just cheap pieces from F21… :)

  3. Thank you! I’m IN LOVE with all of his pieces. They are such collector’s items – prices on eBay are insane. I’m working on expanding my cheap jewelry collection too. So far lots of cheap pieces and thrifted finds (not a bad thing), just cheap. :)

  4. 1) Thank you! I’m always weird about it being down! 2) My job is complete! 3) They are OLD Target heels. Probably at least a year and half? Maybe 2. They are super cute, but really hard to walk in. I contemplate getting rid of them each time I actually wear them. :-P

  5. Thanks! His pieces are amazing and truly beautiful. He also has so many different types: belt buckles, rings, necklaces and bracelets seem to be his mainstays but you can also find purses, sunglasses on eBay. And of course there are different designs: the alligator, horse, cowgirl, etc.

Something to say? Do it here.

