#NYFWInsider

NYInsider-Collage1 NYInsider-Collage2 NYInsider-Collage3 NYInsider-Collage4Left to right, top to bottom: press badge / the NYFW Insider herself / a digitized art sketch of J’s boots for sale in the tents / cover page for a show / Project Runway / shot from the back of the camera at the Nina Skarra show / model at Carmen Marc Valvo / inspiration for the Carmen Marc Valvo show / box presentation / shoes that got blogger papped / the blogger that did the papping / M&Ms that got in on the FW make over 

If you happen to follow me on twitter or instagram (chicstripes) then you will have noticed the above photos and a series of posts during New York Fashion Week with the hash tag #NYFWInsider. Although I wasn’t at Fashion Week myself, having my best friend of over thirteen years there texting me photos and observations from the tents was almost as good. This week I’ll be sharing exclusive photos from the shows she attended, so get ready to see Fashion Week from a whole new lens. In the mean time, let me introduce you to the woman behind the camera. Not only does she take amazing photos, she has fantastic taste in shoes (if only we wore the same size) and I’m thrilled to have her here at Chic Stripes.

jaisubway1

Why/how did you get into photography?

I’ve always loved the magic of makeup and lighting (Sydney having been my first makeup test subject…poor girl), and photography was a natural progression for me after years of art modeling.  I enjoy being in any part of this industry I can!

Where can we see more of your work?

On my website and my facebook pages-

http://jaimayhew.com/

https://www.facebook.com/JAIphoto

Who do you look to collaborate with?

Anyone who inspires me

How did you end up in NYC for one of the best weeks out of the year?

Pure luck! A friend/wardrobe stylist I work with often was attending and I went as her assistant. I had no idea what to expect, but the energy and excitement and variety of aesthetics was so inspiring. I came up with so many shoot ideas while watching the shows.

What was your favorite moment in NYC for FW?

Getting into the Project Runway show and seeing Heidi Klum, Tim Gunn and the panel in person. It was a bit surreal and the show itself was incredible, you could feel the excitement in that room!

Favorite designer?

Alexander McQueen…a photographer’s dream.

Favorite low-end brand?

H&M is amazing for basic pieces, I get a lot of shoot clothes there b/c I need to look decent in BTS shots, but I’m going to be climbing things and rolling in the dirt so I need inexpensive pieces I’m not afraid to ruin.

What projects do you have up and coming?

I’m crazy excited about this spring.. I have a trip to Vegas next month that has been in the works for some time, and a lot of new studio work that will showcase the change in artistic direction I’ve been developing. Can’t wait to share!

Quickies:

Vodka or wine? WINE

Baseball cap or fedora? FEDORA

Stilettos or flats? What are flats?

Leather or lace? LEATHER

East cost or West coast? EAST

Stay tuned for more behind the scenes from New York Fashion Week!

2 thoughts on “#NYFWInsider

Something to say? Do it here.

