Monday Chic: The 50s

2013.2.5The50sLast week we were met with many blustery, windy and rainy days. My go-to armor for these days is to bundle up on top and wear something fun down below – hence this 50s inspired maroon mermaid skirt that I’ve had for years (why didn’t I pull this out when oxblood was so hot??). That being said, I think I have found a new outfit go to that is comprised mainly of swingy, thrifted skirts. After all, they never seem to go out of fashion and I’m fairly certain I can build a good collection for under $20.

2013.2.5The50sClose 2013.2.5The50sDetails2 2013.2.5The50sFun

What do you think of this style of skirt? Dated or easily made modern again?

Outfit details:

turtle neck – H&M / skirt – GAP / boots – BCBG Generation / scarf – gifted / ring – a Virginia Native American Powwow / bracelet – a Navajo piece / watch – thrifted / belt – thrifted / jacket – J. Crew

5 thoughts on “Monday Chic: The 50s

Something to say? Do it here.

