31 Day Style Challenge: The Week 5 Finale

Day27final-2013I have to admit, I am totally glad this 31 Day Style Challenge is over. It is hard work taking a photo a day while trying to figure out how many 2nd hand items you can cram into it while keeping in mind it will be shared with the internet at large and should therefore still be somewhat chic. Another confession, I totally failed at Day 26. I worked my part time job all day then came home and crashed and I just felt I couldn’t share another leggings and sweatshirt photo. I won’t spend much time on Day 28 here (tune in Wednesday for a full post).

Week5Collage1Day28-29This past weekend, we visited my mom and my little sister asked me if Armani Exchange was a good brand and that she found a “weird but kinda cool sweater” in the attic. I wasted no time in texting my other sister asking for her hand-me-downs. She gave her blessings (I believe her exact words were, “”Oh yea. You can definitely have that!”). I’ll try for a full outfit post on this sweater sometime soon a the best details are the leather piping on the sides and the back. With our 20 degree weather around here lately, it was the perfect and totally warm 2nd hand addition to my closet. Day 29 was a fun day – layering a mustard sweater over chambray with cropped pants and chunky black heels. I liken this to a modern day take on a Mad Men era ensemble

Week5Collage2Day30-31The infamous sweater made a comeback in a work from home day in Day 30. Maybe not one of my best outfits, but it was comfy and that’s all I was going for. Day 31 is my favorite! I had an all day work clinic on ending homelessness in Richmond and wanted something business like but with enough punches of color to brighten up a difficult topic. I think it worked and will be revisiting this basic look with different color combos.

How did you change up your style with the start of a new year? Any style resolutions?

Full outfit details:

Day 27: top – Banana Republic / jacket – thrifted / jeans – J. Brand / heels – Vince Camuto / ring – H&M / earrings – Stella and Dot / bracelet green – vintage from my grandmother / bracelet blue – from a Persian friend

Day 28: top – Silence and Noise from Plato’s Closet / jeans – Banana Republic / tank – H&M / sweater – Armani Exchange from sister / boots – Atrex / bracelet – thrifted / headbands – Target

Day 29: chambray top – Banana Republic / sweater – thrifted / pants – Ann Taylor from Finicky Fox / earrings – Forever 21 / heels – Target / watch – thrifted

Day 30:  silk top – thrifted / jeans – GAP / sweater – Armani Exchange from sister /wedges – Aldo / earrings – Forever 21

Day 31: top – Banana Republic from Plato’s Closet / jacket – Forever 21 / scarf – present /  pants – Ann Taylor from Finicky Fox / watch – thrifted / pumps – Salvatore Ferragamo from Baggio Consignment

4 thoughts on “31 Day Style Challenge: The Week 5 Finale

Something to say? Do it here.

