Monday Chic: Notes on an Outfit

They key to almost any chic outfit is simplicity and classic combinations.  Even as I put this on for dinner at my in-laws Sunday night, I resisted the urge to find “something bright” or “crazy!” to make the outfit pop.  Despite fashion trends, I’ve come to realize I just don’t (always) need them to make an outfit chic.  Instead, I focus on including little classic details to make outfits memorable, classy, and, most importantly, affordable.

The first classic piece I wanted to add to my outfit was this simple black bag.  It is a Dooney and Burke and while I have typically veered away from their bags (or any other bag covered in logos), this simple black bag with gold touches and a barely there logo was a must have.  And the greatest of all?  It was thrifted!  While I did end up paying about $15 dollars for it (apparently the ladies at the Bargain Box got wise to some brands), it has been my go to black bag when I’ve needed one.

The second classic yet chic items I threw on were simple cropped pants and a silk top.  I adore cropped pants.  Mostly because I am short.  But probably because they can make you look good in heels, flats and boots.  What other pant can do that?  Silk tops are also my immediate stop for casual luxe as this is really nothing more than a black t-shirt, but the material instantly steps it up to holiday party or night out attire.  And, get this, the top was thrifted for under $5.

Last but not least, the very classic black pump, last seen here.  You can’t get more classic than this and while probably not totally appropriate for dinner at the in-laws (but then I’ve been known to wear less than appropriate for the occasion outfits), but perfect for work, parties, cocktail, weddings, and the list goes on.  And in case you didn’t click on the above link, I got ’em for under $90 ($88 to be exact) from Baggio.

As you can see, I’ve got a perfectly classic outfit with 4 key essential pieces (recap: bag, pumps, cropped pants and silk top) that can be mixed and matched in almost any color or pattern or with other items in your own wardrobe to start creating your very own classic combinations.  These 4 are my go-tos and if I had my way, my closet would be full of cropped pants and thrifted bags.  What are your chic item must haves for constructing simple yet stylish outfits?  Do share!

Outfit details:

top – thrifted / tank – H&M / Vitality necklace – Stella and Dot / jeans – Banana Republic / heels – Stuart Weiztman via Baggio Consignment

Images copyrighted to chicstripes (yes, even the blurry ones.  We ran out of daylight, dang daylight savings time)

Something to say? Do it here.

