Monday Chic: Diamonds

This past week has been a very busy one filled with exciting news (a $300,000 grant I wrote for my organization was awarded by the Dept. of Labor), adult decisions being made (homes, houses, mortgages oh my!) and a lot of naps being had (I love my bed).  Out of all of these things, the thought that we will soon be relocating to the Southside, or South of the James as I shall be calling it, and moving into our own house is the most exciting.  My husband and I have officially made the leap from renters to bonified mortgage holders complete with a three bedroom, hardwood floor, full basement and large backyard home.  I’m thrilled to be closer to the city, within walking distance of the farmers market and coffee shop and near two parks where we can go mountain bike riding without even loading up the car.  New changes can be very scary, but I am excited to start this new life adventure, especially if it means I get to host a “Stock the Bar” party (aka house warming party, but I love the other concept from Aimee!).

Now I just have to get creative and figure out where I will store my bags, purses and shoes.  Any thoughts on converting a full basement into a dressing room?

Outfit details:

top – Forever 21 via Plato’s Closet / shorts – H&M / sandals – Zara / ring – H&M / bracelet – thrifted / headbands – Goody via Target / bag – thrifted in Hawaii 

8 thoughts on “Monday Chic: Diamonds

  1. Oh my gosh, congrats!!! We had a “Stock the bar party” when I moved into my apartment, and it was one of the most fun party ideas, ever!!! (Plus, you get tons of booze, hehe)

    P.S. I got your e-mail, and I’ll add you to the Virginia Bloggers list asap!

  2. Congrats on all of the exciting news on the house front!! Can’t wait to hear more about it. Blate night the end of July…let’s get it on the books!

    As always, thanks for coming out on Sunday night & supporting our event. You’re so sweet!! We look forward to seeing the pics sometime this week.

    Mendi & Jayme @ Her Late Night Cravings

  3. Thank you! It’s simultaneously terrifying and exciting! Def have late July wide open for a blate night, super excited! Thanks for always arranging them for us.

  4. It sounds like a super fun event, sans ruining my house. ;) thanks for adding me to the list – looking forward to keeping up with everything!

  5. Congrats! Home ownership is hard work but SO WORTH IT. My favorite thing to do is making decisions about my home and seeing them happen. Hiring painters – best decision I ever made!!

Something to say? Do it here.

