Friday Chic: Spring Colors

An early morning pre-work breakfast at one of the swankest hotels in Richmond called for a chic shift dress, spring colors, and fun wedges.  I had completely forgotten about the Shops at Target debut until I found a post on The Webster Miami through Tiffany at Shoes and Champagne.  It was love at first sight as most of my clothing purchases are, but I was on a no shopping ban and filed it away as lovely (that and the sizes started at a 2 which meant most likely a big fit on my petite frame).  An innocent Target shopping trip a few days later I found the dresses in store – but not in a 2.  So I went where all savy shoppers go, the fitting room, where sure enough, there was a 2 hanging on the rack.  It was too large, but I loved the shape and colors and after a quick text to @extrapetite and my bff who gave advice on alterations and confirmed it was indeed fab, it landed triumphantly into my cart.

The side seams may still be taken in just a touch, but my expert hand stitching skills have thus far stayed on very short projects such as sewing the arm holes and minor hemming, so that is on hold until I get a sewing machine.  Have you ever purchased an item you loved knowing you would need alterations?  I’ve been reading more petite bloggers lately and the one thing we all have in comment is shopping in the kids section and needing to alter almost everything to fit.  Fitted clothing is truely one of the best things in things in this world!

Outfit details:

dress – Shops at Target, The Webster / cardigan – Old Navy via Plato’s Closet / wedges – Aldo / bag – J. Crew via Plato’s Closet / sunglasses – Prada

Update – the link to the Webster features a petite dress just found online.  The petite sizing is not sold in stores, but the regular sizing link was not available online.  Has anyone purchased this petite dress?  So far I’m happy with the regular as I was able to practice altering skills and I don’t like things skin tight.  Do share!

4 thoughts on “Friday Chic: Spring Colors

  1. Thank you! You can find the dress at Target right now. The cardigan is second hand but I love the lime green color. Perfect for adding that pop of color.

Something to say? Do it here.

