Monday Chic: Polka Dots

A few weeks ago I found these pants at Goodwill and knew they had to come home with me.  They were quite sheer, but I loved them and made a mental note to wear tights underneath.  Said mental note was apparently not filed correctly because I promptly forgot the tight wearing rule about until we were in the car half way to brunch.  My walking around attire then consisted of a half tucked in shirt and yanked down back to prevent see-through-ness.  Despite the sheer factor, these are the perfect pants for a little outfit wake-up call – flowy, pajama-like, dotted, and high waisted, they are ultimately comfortable and chic at the same time, something that can be very hard to achieve.

Our brunch included the best huevos rancheros I’ve ever had, fresh fruit and biscuits topped with jam.  Afterwards, we toured the Edgar Allen Poe museum where we viewed creepy paintings illustrating The Raven and saw the teeny tiny bed where Poe used to sleep.  A fun weekend date activity – what did you all do?  (all brunch date activities courtesy of Groupon).

Outfit details:

top – J. Crew / pants – thrifted / sandals – Urban Outfitters / bag – Target / jean jacket – H&M / scarf – thrifted / nails – OPI

8 thoughts on “Monday Chic: Polka Dots

  1. Those pants are amazing! I’m always so jealous when people find such good things at Goodwill! I need to go more often. I have scored a couple good pieces from thrift stores :)

  2. Thanks! The key to Goodwill shopping is to go frequently! I am trying to go at least once every two weeks and hit up all of my favorite thrift stores, but sometimes popping in and just looking through one section (the pants, or skirts, etc) can reveal super fun things. Especially if you don’t have time to comb through a huge store.

  3. I actually saw those exact pants in Goodwill and tried them on but passed on them! The Goodwill on Broad, right? Hah that’s too funny :]

  4. :D

    I love your style! I would love to do a photo shoot with you sometime. If you ever want to meet up and take some shots for your blog, let me know! You can view some of the outfit shots I’ve taken here – http://lookbook.nu/ericaleigh

    Alyssa

Something to say? Do it here.

