Midweek Chic: Budget Calculations and Layers

Ever since completing my 31 Day Style Challenge, becoming addicted to The Man Repeller, and seeing loads and loads of layers covering the runways at Mercedes Benz Fashion Week, it’s a look I am slowly incorporating into my every day wear.  Not so much in the man repelling way, but in a re-work my closet way.

This is a layered look, believe it or not.  Here, I’ve layered a shirt dress found for $8 under a skirt scored for $10 to create a look that looks like separates, but is more like 1.5 items.  To keep warm in the insanely chilly weather (19 degrees!) I bundled up in my J. Crew Warehouse purchase – the lady day coat for $42.   Yes, I managed to score an additional 20% the already low prices by going back during the last 2 days of the sale.   As you can see, I like to calculate the cost of my outfits at times, mainly to resassure myself that the overly expensive splurge was worth it because of the hundreds I save by shopping sales and thrift stores.   As I’ve obviously pointed out where I saved money, I’m sure you can safely assume I spent money on my bag and boots.

Part of my New Year’s resolutions was to spend more time on my hair and makeup than my typical 15 minutes.  This is more of an accident and on an off wash day than intentially.  But, nonetheless, it’s quite pretty, if not insanely hard to keep looking pretty.

Outfit details: dress worn as top, Target /skirt, H&M/coat, J. Crew/ boots, BCBGeneration/ bag, Jason Wu for Target/ ring, H&M/ bracelet, thrifted/  

Location: Far West End

Photographer: Andrew

Psst.  Outfit calculation = approx. $220.  What are the number crunches on some of your favorite outfits?

4 thoughts on “Midweek Chic: Budget Calculations and Layers

  1. I wasn’t a huge fan of all the holes in everything, and even though I thought things would disappear fast – they were bringing in new shipments on the last day! I will be waiting until the last week or so next time – plus you get that great 20% discount.

  2. Thanks!! I’m wearing dresses a lot more now as shirts. It’s a fun way to expand your wardrobe. I love the satchel bag – my only complaint is that I will probably have to get it dry cleaned every so often as the cream seems to get dirty. But otherwise, it’s a lovely bag!

Something to say? Do it here.

