31 Day Style Challenge: Week 4

Coming into the last full week of January I was ready for some days and not so ready for others (see Day 28).  My days have gotten increasingly busier even as it seems I have more flexibility in my schedule and have had tons of free time to shop (finally, I miss it!).

Day 22: I found these lovely pj-like pants during a thrift excursion and debated on them for about 10 minutes.  They looked big enough to fit me, but there were no dressing rooms and I didn’t wear anything that I could easily slip them on to try.  I figured they would be high waisted and flared, and I couldn’t have been happier when I brought them home and tried them out.  When paired with classic navy, heavy accessories and peep toe booties, it was definitely an outfit to turn the preppier heads in the West End.  Outfit details: dress as top, Forever 21; pants, no brand thrifted; tights, Target; heels, Ana Michele via Plato’s Closet; coat, J. Crew via warehouse sale; watch, Citizen; earrings, Forever 21.

Day 23: Work day outfits always include a little bit of style and a lot of comfort, especially when I am in for a lot of meetings.  I gravitate towards easy stripes and black on brown feels so European chic that it’s a safe yet fashionable choice for the office.  Outfit details: top, Gap; pants, J. Crew; cardigan, Old Navy via Plato’s Closet; scarf, pashmina from Milan; boots, BCBGeneration; watch, Citizen.

Day 24: My striped tunic top from Day 22 makes a comeback for another long day of training.  This time paired with jeans and red cord blazer I thrifted over five years ago and have never let go of since.  Outfit details: dress as top, Forever 21; jeans, H&M; wedges, Aldo; blazer, thrifted; earrings, Forever 21.

Day 25: Part of my job includes meetings with different community movers and shakers.  Today was a meeting with the city planner in the Department of Economics and Community Development here in Richmond.  Not wanting to be too flashy, I paired black on black with trousers and a minimal pop of mustard yellow.  Outfit details: tank, thrifted; blazer, Forever 21; pants, Banana Republic; belt, J. Crew; boots, BCBGeneration.

Day 26: Since I’ve been picking a favorite outfit out of each week, this combo of yellow, red, blues and pearls is my new go-to.  I’ve been thinking more about layering over the past 4 weeks and where I would usually just wear this sweater, I found something to put under it.  I was tempted to choose neutral shoes, but went instead for my red heels – a new found love and I adore the outcome.  Outfit details: sweater, thrifted; blouse, Target via Plato’s Closet; jeans, Gap; heels, J. Crew via J. Crew Warehouse Sale; necklace, Lava Boutique.

Day 27: For the last of my work days, it was again a comfy sweater, jeans and boots paired with a few bold accessories.  The sweater was scored at the J. Crew Warehouse sale after hours of searching through overflowing bins, clothes with random holes, and nothing in my size.  When I found this sweater (I found one the first day I went, but it had holes) sans holes and in great condition, I knew it was fashion fate.  Do you believe in this?  If you find something you like, you leave it in the store, come back a few days later and if it’s there, then you must, must buy it.  Solves a lot of those “do I or do I not purchase” questions.   Outfit details: silk cami, thrifted; sweater, J. Crew via J. Crew Warehouse Sale; jeans, Banana Republic; boots, Nine West; gold bracelet, thrifted; ring, H&M.

Day 28: So. This is pretty much what I looked like on Saturday.  Exchange the Y fleece for a William and Mary sweatshirt and you have my outfit from the morning where we held a community volunteer day through work.  We were cleaning, painting, and otherwise detailing one of our new group homes.  Thanks to about 50 Delta Theta sorority girls from VCU we MORE than finished our task.  And yes, I do work part time at the Y.  Gotta keep that membership going strong.  Outfit details: YMCA work outfit; black pants, Goodwill; tennis shoes, Atrex.

One thought on “31 Day Style Challenge: Week 4

Something to say? Do it here.

