31 Day Challenge: Week 3

It’s hard to believe that January is only 9 days from being over.  It seems like just yesterday when we were ringing in the New Year full of hopes and dreams for 2012.  One of the ways I challenge my style each year is to participate in a self imposed 31 Day Style Challenge.  Each day for the month of January I photograph every outfit – the trick is, I am not just putting together outfits to find something creative and daring, but to find something that works for my schedule on that particular day while still pushing my style boundaries.  I think this has been my best week yet – think mixed layers, prints, different silhouettes and lots of fun colors.

Day 15: Sunday is always a great day fashion-wise for me because I usually have no where pressing to be besides church and that in and of itself is a fashion venue depending on where we go.  If we head downtown for church then no one takes a second look and this is what I love about Richmond fashion.  If we stay in the West End, then I just retain my “downtown fashion attitude” and leave it at that.  This outfit was chock full of layers and textures and was just fun to wear (despite the temps in the 30’s – my husband kept telling me to “stop looking so cold.”).  Outfit details: turtle neck, H&M; green top, GAP; sweater vest, Target; skirt, thrifted; heels, Target; necklace, gifted from the Tobacco Company.   Location: Shockoe Bottom

Day 16: I was off again on another Monday (love those federal holidays) so I took advantage of the time and took to Cary Street to purchase gifts for my BFF’s birthday.  Luckily I managed to find all but 2 things and was able to spend the day hitting up my favorite local stores: Mongrel, Bygone’s Vintage Clothing, The Hall Tree, and Clemetine.    Outfit details: button down, J. Crew; vest, Guess thrifted; jeans, Arden B.; boots, Nine West; necklace, H&M.  Location: Far West End

Day 17: Work called for all day meetings and trainings which of course called for comfy and layers.  In trying to re-use some of the clothes I don’t typically wear or consider finally getting rid of, I threw on a grey wrap, dressed it up with a belt and rounded it out with jewel toned necklaces and a scarf.  Outfit details: silk top, thrifted; grey wrap, Target; belt, H&M; boots, Nine West; scarf, thrifted; necklaces, New York and Co and thrifted. Location: our apartment in the far West End.

Day 18: So far I am loving Wednesdays – these are my mid-week Sundays in terms of fashion styling.  I usually spend my days between Panera, Starbucks, or a local coffee house.  This also means I can experiment with styling and today I pulled cropped black pants, a sheer top and a touch of neon with conservative snakeskin heels and a black blazer.  Work chic with a twist.  Outfit details: top, Silence and Noise via Plato’s Closet; tank, J. Crew; pants, H&M; heels, Urban Outfitters via Plato’s closet; necklace, J. Crew; blazer, Forever 21. Location: Far West End.

Day 19: Another work day, another training day.  My work style has evolved to consist of jeans, a good heel, silk top and a blazer.  You can’t get much more business casual than this can you?  I find if you add the silk top, curl your hair and keep accessories to a minimal, you are ready for any work business and can easily transition into date night or happy hour after.  Outfit details: top, thrifted; blazer, Forever 21; jeans, H&M; ankle boots, Vince Camuto.  Location: Southside Richmond.

Day 20: I love nothing more than pairing neutral basics with pops of color found in my heels, clutch, and cuff.  With a great cropped pants and grey top it’s easy to look chic and pulled together while color makes everything fun and brighter on a Friday.  Outfit details: jeans, Banana Republic; sweater top, Gap; coat; H&M; heels, Aldo; clutch, Banana Republic thrifted; cuff, bought from a street vendor in NYC.  Location: Far West End.

Day 21: This look might have been one of the farthest from my typical outfits but it was one of my favorites.  It has been freezing and raining (yet no hint of snow) in Richmond lately and while I hate the cold, it has given me good excuse to try different versions of layers.  Here I paired tights with a knee length skirt turned tube top dress with a layered striped tee over it and topped off with my favorite rope necklace.  If you buy one piece of jewelry, make it your mission to find something similar.  It literally goes with anything. Outfit details: top, via Plato’s Closet; skirt, American Apparel; tights, Target; boots, Atrex; necklace, Boutique on Feet; jacket, H&M. Location: Far West End.

Make sure you catch up on Week 1 and Week 2 and if you want even more styling fun, check out my styles from a year gone by, here, here, and here.  How have you challenged your style so far this year?  Trying out neons?  What about prints?  Do share!

One thought on “31 Day Challenge: Week 3

Something to say? Do it here.

