31 Day Challenge: Week 1

The first week of 2012 can so far be summed up with a hard but satisfying work week, an unexpected weekend trip through two different states to visit with with family, the J. Crew warehouse sale, thrifted finds, and a delicious butternut squash risotto made by yours truly.  Besides all of that, I finished my first week of the 31 Day Style Challenge.

Day 1: New Years Day was relaxing to the utmost.  My hubby and I slept in, made a lazy French toast breakfast with load of coffee, pulled out our mountain bikes, and hit up Banana Republic for some after Christmas shopping.  With that in mind, I kept it casual but polished with a thrifted 80’s style sweat shirt, a structured role necklace, skirt, and my first major shoe purchase.  Looking back, this is easily my favorite outfit of the week.  Outfit details: sweater, thrifted; necklace, Boutique on Feet; skirt, H&M; heels, Carlos Santana; bag, J. Crew via Plato’s Closet.

Day 2: I was lucky enough to have Monday off so I took advantage of the time to do some good thrifting.  I headed downtown where I found a great jacket for my hubby, an animal print top, tribal bracelet, and wide legged pantaloon pants for me.  I was going for a unique layered 70’s look and got a few compliments on the gigantic necklace made out of coiled up zippers and pearls.  Outfit details: dress as top, Kersh at Eurotrash; vest, Guess via thrift; necklace, unknown via Plato’s Closet; jeans, Gap; hels, Aldo.  

Day 3: First day back at work for a three day work week.  I wanted something a little more daring than my normal neutrals so I went for the shirt I thrifted the day before.  I’m not usually a t-shirt gal, but this super think luxe feeling shirt from Ann Taylor Loft won me over (and it was $5, why not splurge?).  Paired with a black cardigan, yellow belt and my favorite denim trousers, I felt a little too classic.  A borrowed Citizen’s watch from the hubby capped off the look.  Outfit details: t-shirt, Ann Taylor Loft thrifted; belt, J. Crew; trousers, Banana Republic; heels, Aldo; cardigan, Old Navy via Plato’s Closet; watch, Citizen.

Day 4: My second favorite look of the week (see Day 1 for my fave) combines classic colors, textures, and shapes.  I had a work meeting but that didn’t stop me from pairing my new BCBGeneration boots with jeans, a lace tank, black blazer and an amber toned link bracelet.  For a stylish work tip: pair a blazer with any and everything and you will instantly update your look to business casual.  Outfit details: tank, Forever 21 via Plato’s Closet; blazer, Forever 21; jeans, H&M; boots, BCBGeneration; bracelet, Target.

Day 5: Thursday was my casual Friday and this was my second attempt at layers (see Day 2 for the first).  I started with a black long sleeve stop, layered with a purple tank, threw on a black knit vest and topped it all with sparkles and a bright red vest.  Not “repellant” layers by any means (See The Man Repeller), but an interesting mix of layers.  It’s a start for me.  Outfit details: black top, H&M; purple tank, Gap via Plato’s Closet; knit vest, Target; red outerwear, thrifted; jeans, H&M; necklace, Forever 21; boots, Atrex.  

Day 6: You get two half outfits for today.  That equals one full outfit right?  At any rate, this started my marathon travel trip where I covered 1000+ miles in 3 days and saw 10 different members of my immediate and extended family – on both sides.  Needless to say, I decided to focus more on family time than photo time, but these are glimpses of the outfits.  The first visit was for a funeral, unfortunately, but I paired houndstooth cropped pants, a black top, black heels, and diamonds.  Later that day, I threw on my cropped 80’s sweater (Day 1) over my black silk top, added red velvet flats and kept the diamonds.  Outfit details (what you can see): 1st photo: earrings, vintage diamonds from my grandmother; jacket, H&M; sun glasses, Prada.  2nd photo: sweater, thrifted; black top, silk thrifted; earrings, diamonds, vintage from my grandmother.

 Day 7: Once again, not a full photo, but we’re getting closer!  I was traveling again this day and needed something comfortable but striking.  These are a few of my favorite pieces  in one outfit.  On the whole this is a very “me” outfit: neutrals, pop of neutral color, glam pieces, and a cargo style mannish piece.  I love anything that mixes high/low and girly/mannish.  It’s a great way to ground an outfit and make it your own.  I’m not a country girl by any means, but I loved all the driving I did, passing cows, horses and rundown abandoned barns and buildings.  The only thing I could think of was what cool outfit photos I would get if I had blue tractors, miles of fields, and buildings with burned out holes in it at my disposal.  Outfit details: top, Gretta Pollman via Etsy; scarf via Festival of India; jacket, Old Navy; earrings, Forever 21; jeans, H&M; wedges (not pictured) Aldo.

Who else has been participating in the 31 Day Style Challenge?  Don’t forget to send me your photos so I can feature YOU in my blogger post!  I can’t wait to see what the next week of dressing brings!

Photographer: Andrew (Day 1-5, Days 6-7 relative and self-timer).

Locations: West End Richmond and Tennessee

6 thoughts on “31 Day Challenge: Week 1

  1. I love all of your outfits! I still have never gone thrifting haha. And it says location is TN? Are you from there? Do you know where Morristown is? I have a best friend from there :) Thanks for entering the giveaway & good luck!

  2. Thank you! I love thriftiting. Not only can you find fantastic deals, you can find unique things that no one else knows. And I’ve been known to score Wang 2nd hand. My family is from TN, but I am not. I actually drove through Morristown. I’m not much of a country girl, but it was beautiful scenery.

Something to say? Do it here.

