31 Day Challenge – Week 2

Week 2 down, 2 to go.  This challenge is harder (and requires more creativity) than I thought!  For any new readers to Chicstripes I am doing a 31 day fashion challenge where I document my daily outfits during the course of the week.  A broken computer leaves me using my husband’s iPhone for the photos and weekly updates.  You can see the first week’s worth of outfits here and the intro to the series here

Day 8 – Saturday.  Saturday’s are great days.  Today was filled with errands, grocery store, YMCA, sushi lunch with a girlfriend, buying used books, and date night with my husband.  Black turtle necks are essential for weekend chic and easily dressed up to get a fashionable flair.  The scarf was an amazing gift from my best friend, bought while she was abroad in Milan.  The necklace is a great piece from my grandmother who was a world traveler.  Most of my statement pieces I’ve inherited from her over the years.  I hope one day that my children and grandchildren want my old jewelry!  Outfit details: black turtle neck, H&M; tank, H&M; jeans, H&M; boots, Nine West; scarf, gifted from Milan; ring, H&M; necklace, vintage from my grandmother.

Day 9 — Sunday.  A COLD church day, I managed to throw an all white pea coat over the outfit to stay warm.  My original outfit was a far cry from what I ended up with here, but everything else I put on that I thought sounded good turned out looking too forced.  I had wanted to wear a great Indian bolera I thrifted, but the orange and gold fabric felt too much for church.  The navy short sleeve trench was too stuffy.  My clothes were everywhere and of course we were late.  When in doubt, I always fall back on jeans, a white tank and blazing earrings.  Outfit details: white tank, forever 21; jeans, H&M; jacket, Old Navy; scarf, thrifted; heels, Aldo; earrings, Festival of India; bag, Balenciaga.   

Day 10 – Monday. Can I just say Monday’s are not the best days of the week?  It is always hard to go back to work from a nice weekend off.   Nevertheless, if one has to go to work, one can at least be 1) warm 2) comfortable and 3) chic in all black.  My favorite pair of trousers currently hit the wide leg trend right: deninum and big legs.  I love how chic they make any outfit and of course, how insanely comfortable are.   Outfit details: turtle neck, H&M; sweater vest, Target; wide leg trousers, Banana Republic; boots, Nine West; earrings, Forever 21. 

 

Day 11 – Tuesday. What’s worse than work on Monday?  The weather channel calling for a snow day that never comes and having to go in anyway.  This is a great sweater I found at Plato’s, it’s warm, comfortable, and chic.  Plus it’s actually longer so I can pair with skinny jeans or leggings for a  night out after work.    Outfit details: cashmere sweater, Banana Republic; dress pants, Banana Republic; boots, Aldo; necklace, Forever 21.

 

 

 Day 12 – Wednesday.  Or otherwise known as the day Sydney got her fashion mojo back.  I had been feeling pretty blah about some of my outfits recently (and/or locations for shooting), but this outfit pulled me out of my styling blues.  I got the silk shirt at Platos and love it for its high collar and slightly secretarial feel.  Cropped pants add instant chic and flats keep my feet from dying.  Outfit details: Top, Target via Platos; tank, H&M; pants, H&M; flats, Aldo; turquoise ring, vintage from my mom; studs, thrifted.

 

Day 13 – Thursday.  Looking every inch the business lady as I stepped out Thursday for work.  I’m a huge fan of big necklaces as I find they are great for work (no jangling bracelets or slipping rings) and add a stylish statement to any outfit.  My husband and I had our community group with our church that night, so I kept the white top and stacked up necklaces and just switched to jeans, boots, and hair in a high pony tail.  Outfit details: white top, Banana Republic; sweater, J. Crew; dress pants, Banana Republic; boots, Aldo; neckalces, both Forever 21. 

 

Day 14 – Fun Friday. Jeans for work make me a very happy girl.  To dress them up, I chose this silk blue top found in a Target sale and added pearl earrings and bracelet.  I’m finding that comfort plays a big role in my work outfits, leaning toward boots with a solid heel or flats.  Most of the time when I start the day out in heels, by the end I’ve switched over to the flats I keep in my bag.  Shoe girl that I am however, if I wasn’t chasing after hyper 4 yr olds and managing 21 year olds, I’d live in heels.  Ah well, next job perhaps.  Outfit details: silk top, Target; tank, H&M; jeans, H&M; boots, Aldo; pearl bracelet and studs, Target

How was your week?  Keep sending those pictures in; I’d love to see how your weekly wardrobe shapes up?  What drives your decisions behind the clothes you wear?  Do you find that actually thinking about getting dressed makes it harder?  I certainly do.  The biggest challenge this week was finding great places for photos and keeping my initial excitement about the challenge.  It’s all too easy to slip into the “work mode” and not even THINK about the clothes you are putting on. 

Images courtesy of my adoring husband who is becoming quite the photographer

5 thoughts on “31 Day Challenge – Week 2

Something to say? Do it here.

