Snakes, Leopards, Diamonds Oh My

Mariacarla Boscono

Italian Vogue, October Issue

The new face of Prada Spring 2011 campaign and my 2nd installation of Model Fave, a category I created to feature some of my favorite models, is Mariacarala Boscono.  I stumbled across her while reading The Cut and after a few quick searches, knew she was someone to keep an eye on.

The interesting details:

  1. Italian descent, currently lives in NYC
  2. Is friends with Margherita Missoni, Raquel Zimmerman, and Lea T
  3. Loves cooking and yoga
  4. Quoted, “I never thought I could have this power to be this beauty.”

Name a heavy hitting fashion designer and Mariacarla has worked the runways for them: Christian Dior, Jean Paul Gautier, Emilio Pucci, Dolce & Gabbana, Roberto Cavalli, Gucci, you know,  if you’ve happened to hear of any of those.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She has a raw edgy vibe that I really love.  She shoots a lot with the likes of Terry Richardson and Paula Kudacki. Quite possibly she is more well known for her racy editorials and controversial shoots.  While some are a little too dark for my tastes, I like what she’s done.  Once you’ve noticed her, it’s hard to take your eyes off of her.

What do you think of Mariacarla?  Her off the runway looks and editorials completely have me hooked.  I think I’ll spend my Thanksgiving break stockpiling images that are dark, dramatic, eerie, her trademark looks.

Images courtesy of The Cut and Style.com

Something to say? Do it here.

