The Stand-Out Collections

New York Fashion week is behind us, as is London and in a few short days, Milan.  I have so much catching up to do!  I love fashion week and I love seeing what all the different designers come up with.  I think experimentation is one of the most important parts of fashion design.  But on whole, I can name more shows that I didn’t like compared to those I did.  That being said, the ones I did like were outstanding.  The colors, ideas, wear-ability, and freshness was amazing.   These are my New York stand-outs.

Ports 1961

I had honestly never paid attention to this brand until I started following Lindsey over at Saucy Glossie. She gave them rave reviews and when I checked out the collection I was stunned.  Every outfit was incredible gorgeous, followed fashion trends, but still unique.  My all time favorite outfit is the shorts outfit on the far right.  I can’t get over the color combinations and I’m loving silky tops for casual summer style.  I NEED a necklace like the one she has on!

Cynthia Steffe

The ultimate casual wardrobe.  I need those pink pair of pants, black heels, and flowy summer dress for summer.  I’m drawn to the color contrasts of pinks and purples with brown come spring.

Marc by Marc Jacobs

It was really hard to narrow down my three fashion-forward images from the Marc by Marc Jacobs show.  I loved the bright colors he chose, the silky materials, and the juxtaposition of feminine shapes with casual shoes.  This is definitely a look I’ll be wearing come next spring!

Donna Karan

Donna Karan created a collection that she dubbed Raw Romance.  The entire collection was executed in only shades of nude, tan, honey, and saffron and the color palate never got tiring.  It was inspired by her love of travel and I can just see a modern, strong woman tramping around the desert and wandering around third world markets, looking incredible chic.

And last but certainly not least:

Proenza Schouler


Knee length skirts and dresses are the new mini and Proenza Schouler designed some of the best.  They turned what could easily be an otherwise dowdy and altogether un-agreeable length into something fashion forward, chic, and incredibly sexy.  The collection was covered in hints of neon, tribal, chic, sheer with just enough but never too much of one thing.

There are obviously a ton of other heavy hitter designers and shows that hit New York that I didn’t cover (Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs, Rachel Roy, Rodarte), but nothing stood out to me as much as the others.  What were your favorite shows from New York?

Images courtesy of Style.com

2 thoughts on “The Stand-Out Collections

Something to say? Do it here.

