Working Woman Part 2

You are now looking at (well, reading about) a gainfully employed working woman!  I am so incredibly excited and proud to be a part of Ndutime Youth and Family Services.  I should start sometime within the next three weeks as Program Director of Day Treatment (social work-y speech, I apologize), but it’s a position above the one I applied for AND I am getting to do extra work on the issue of drop-out prevention (show some excitement people!)!

Thank you everyone out there for all your thoughts, prayers, and encouragement since I started out on my whole school/life/work journey.  It’s been long and hard, but now I’m getting there (and I would just like to say a little HA to all those who claimed I would have to start at the bottom – I’m a driven, professional, perfectionist, I tend to get what I go for).

My job basically means I get to influence the lives of kids like this precious baby, Dominique.  How can I not love a job like that?

Other’s thoughts on my  job are as follows:

My father:

Dad: Great! Now we just need to figure out what you’re husband wants to do with the rest of his life.

Me: We will.

Dad: I’ll tell you what I want him to do. Go to college and become an explosions expert!  Then we can blow stuff up.

My best friend (and soul mate):

Me: omg omg omg I just got a job!!!

Her: oh my god!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! COngrats!!!  What’s ur new title??

Me: Program director of day treatment!!!!

Her: Damn girl!!!!!  Ur a director???  Look at chu ;)  And you finally get health insurance!!!

My brother-in-law:

Him: Go buy a house dude!

Me: No way, my money is going to student loans, savings, and cristal!

Him: Family drinks to celebrate!

Gotta love the support of friends and family.  It’s pretty much priceless (and some of the best).

Image courtesy of NDUTIME and me circa 2008

Something to say? Do it here.

