Due to Popular Demand…

Ok, so really due to the demand of one reader (thanks for reading anwa! and for the rest of you, check out her fashion and photography blog) … here are some never before seen pictures from the night shoot I did with my best friend J and little sister H a few weeks ago.  Since I did all the styling, I’ve even included the styling comments!

On S: t-American Apparel, skirt-thrifted H&M, belt-thrifted, sequined ankle boots-charolette ruse, assorted bangles-thrifted, raided from my grandmother’s jewelry box.  Hair by S, MAC makeup by J


On H: tank-Forever 21, cropped jeans-H&M, moto jacket-H&M, gold sequined heels-Aldo, earrings-Express.  Hair by S, MAC makeup by J.

A note on styling… I LOVE styling clothes for shoots we do.  It’s pretty much a time where I can flex my creative styling muscles and put together a look I probably wouldn’t wear out, but that also isn’t such a far-fetched look that I wouldn’t wear it out.  I’ve taken to more experimental looks in my every day dress and wear though (think some of Carrie’s outfits in Sex and the City) and I’ve had so much more fun getting dressed when I’ve put together a creative and unconventional outfit that totally flows.

Have any of you done a photo shoot –  professional, for fun, or to build a portfolio?  What kind of looks have you shot or styled?  If you’ve never done a shoot, what magazine or editorial shoots inspire you?

All images taken by J of jmayevolution

Something to say? Do it here.

