Happy 2014!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope everyone had a smashing New Years Eve. My husband and I kept it low key with take out from Stella’s, Belmont Pizzeria, Fat Dragon (word to the wise – check take out schedules and openings before making plans), amazing champagne (of course!), and Gelati Celesti x2 (salted caramel and chocolate decadence, ooh yea). We’re headed south today for a day of skiing. Wish me luck…it’s been about ten years and I believe half the reason my siblings are looking forward to the trip is because they think I will do something funny, like crash and burn, which is actually totally feasible; I’ll keep you posted. ;) Any goals for the new year? Keep reading for mine!

2013 was quite the year for so many of you (myself included) with personal and professional gains and losses, hopes and dreams achieved and lost, many successes and just as many times when you needed to try again. I have been thinking a lot about goals for the new year: goals that are personal, professional, and blog related. Here are a few:

Personal

  1. Thinking before reacting. I frequently reply to a myriad of things on the fly or when I receive news (good or bad). Rarely do I stop and think before responding and more often than not, I tend to think of a better way I could have replied had I just paused and given myself time to think through a response.
  2. STOP manipulating situations for my personal gain. Someone recently told me this was a tendency of introverts (yes, I recharge best by staying home with a good book). Well, I tend to take this a little too far – arranging and rearranging plans to the detriment of myself, friends, family and responsibilities.
  3. Spending more time with my planner. This is closely related to not manipulating situations. If I am consciously checking my schedule, making and sticking with plans,  I will be more apt to know what is on my schedule and not overbook myself. I want to start each day by reviewing my calendar for that day as well as the week and month.
  4. Regaining my spiritual footing. I grew up going to church and my personal spiritual relationship has always been an important part of my life. Over the past several years, this has been rocky at best, in part because of a rather crushing incident at a previous church that my husband and I went through. It took us a few years before we were even ready to think about returning to church and we’ve church hopped for another several. This part of my life is important to me and I hope to spend this year regaining it.

Professional

  1. Build meaningful relationships. 
  2. Be present.
  3. Don’t let my ISTJ tendencies rule my life. Since all of these goals can be summed up in one paragraph, I’ve just put it here. We recently attended a leadership training at work where we took the Myers Briggs personality test. I turned out to be an ISTJ (for those of you who haven’t taken the test, the letters stand for Introvert, Sensing, Thinking, Judging and mean more than just their face value/dictionary definition). One of the primary things I took away was that you don’t have to let your personality preferences dictate your life/relationships. As an introverted person, I tend to focus on tasks and want to get done and get out. This year I want to focus on building more meaningful relationships, being more physically present, and not letting my personality preferences dictate my interactions with others.

Blog

  1. Write a business plan. You may have heard the quote, “Vision without action is merely a dream. Action without vision just passes the time. Vision with action can change the world. – Joel Barker.” I have a lot of visions, dreams, and even actions. But I am coming to a place where all of these things have been disjointed. I’m going to write a business plan for styling and I am going to write goals for my blog. These aren’t “sell out the blog and make a lot of money.” But I want to increase social media followers, increase engagement, continue to put out quality material, and I need a plan to help me keep it all straight.
  2. Create and launch a professional website. Hand in hand with my business plan is launching a professional website. If I am serious about starting a styling business, I need something more than a blog with an added services page. I’m not getting rid of Chic Stripes (by any means!),  but I need a separate platform for referring clients and showcasing work.

These are just a few of the things that have been swirling around my brain recently. I am a huge list writer (lists on lists on lists!) and writing things down is the very first step to accomplishing those things. Today I am sending you my very best wishes so that you can accomplish your own goals and dreams.

What is your top goal for 2014? Write it down (try it out in the comments section :)) and get it done. 

12 Comments

Filed under Life

12 responses to “Happy 2014!

  1. These are great goals! I’m so excited to see what 2014 has in store for you :)

  2. You really sat down and thought these out!! Good job ;-)

  3. Fellow ITSJ here — and guilt of no. 2 as well. It’s a constant struggle.

  4. Great goals, so thorough. I wish I knew what my Meyers Briggs personality type was… maybe this will be on my list this year. I am the same type of manipulator about time and my schedule.

    • Thanks – I wanted to really sit and think. I need to write them down or print them off so I have them visible. Thinking about doing a monthly recap on my goals at the end of each month.

  5. My husband and I experienced trauma at a previous church, as well, so the past several months and the next year are all about reclaiming and examining our spirituality.

  6. Pingback: 2014 Goals – January Recap | Chic Stripes

Leave a Reply

